Nigeria lose after late penalty drama

Nigeria lose after late penalty drama
..but they can still qualify for next round

France finished top of Group A after a twice-taken penalty by Wendie Renard gave them victory over Nigeria in an incident-packed Women’s World Cup game.

The initial penalty – awarded after a video assistant referee review for a foul on Viviane Asseyi – hit the post.

But keeper Chiamaka Nnadozie was ruled to have moved off her line early and Renard slotted the re-taken spot kick.

Despite losing 1-0, Nigeria still have a big chance of making the last 16 as one of the best third-placed teams.

BBC

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.