(Last Updated On: 2019-09-17)

The Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) has hosted the 18th African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC) and Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) on Site Cabin Safety Oversight Course in Lagos, Nigeria.

A statement signed by the NCCA, GM, Public Relations, Sam Adurognoye, Nigeria was selected to play host to participants from different African countries after due consideration which included its safety record of airline operations in the country.

According to him in the statement, this course was conducted under the framework of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC) and the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS).

The course commenced from Monday 9th and ended Friday 13th September, 2019 at the Training Center of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), HQ Annex.

Its objective is to provide participants with a good understanding of critical areas of cabin safety oversight. These are Operation of Aircraft under ICAO Annex 6; Transportation of Dangerous Goods by Air under Annex 18; Technical Instructions on the Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air in ICAO Doc 9284; and Manual of Procedures for Operations, Inspection, Certification and Continued Surveillance in ICAO Document 8335.

During the course, best practices in safety oversight management with a focus on special operations approval for Transportation of Dangerous Goods by Air and Extended Diversion Time Operations (EDTO) were dwelt upon.

The Director General of the Authority, Capt. Muhtar Usman while declaring the training open said the course came at a very appropriate time, especially as Nigeria is preparing for the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Universal Safety Oversight Audit Programme (USOAP) ICAO Coordinated Validation Mission (ICVM) scheduled to take place in the first quarter of next year.

Also Read  FCTA Deploys Queue Management Tech To Ease Business Transaction

He commended the progressive partnership of AFCAC and CAAS with NCAA which has contributed immensely to strengthening the Authority’s safety oversight responsibilities.

There were 39 participants from fifteen (15) African countries including Nigeria. These are Burkina Faso, Burundi, Gambia, Senegal, Togo, Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo and Gabon. Others are Ivory Coast, Ethiopia, Niger, Cape Verde, Mozambique and Sao Tome & Principe.

How useful was this post?


Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.